Leave A Legacy
Leave A Legacy

The Jewels of our Communities

The Leave a Legacy Summit, Portage, Medina invites all nonprofit partner organizations each year to submit nominations for the Annual Voices of Giving Honor Awards. The Honor Awards recognize and pay tribute to those in Summit, Portage and Medina Counties who, out of selflessness, generosity, and foresight, have chosen to leave a legacy (bequest or other planned gift) to their favorite charity. These individuals represent the true spirit of giving, essential for an enhanced quality of life in our communities now and in the future.

The Voices of Giving Honor Awards event is an excellent way for an organization to both recognize an individual or family from their organization who has made a planned gift and also to promote planned giving through their testimonial and example. An organization may nominate an individual, couple, or family.

All nominees are invited to and recognized at the Voices of Giving Honors Award Recognition Reception which will be held on June 14th, 2018 at the Portage Country Club from 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.The Voices of Giving Honors Committee will select the one nominee who best personifies the spirit of the Leave a Legacy initiative. All nominees will be honored, but one will receive a special award, the ”Crown Jewel.” The organization nominating this special honoree will receive a check for $700.00 in the name of the Voices of Giving Honoree. This gift is underwritten by the Lisle M. Buckingham Endowment Fund of the Akron Community Foundation.

The following charities were selected by the honorees to receive their $700 award:







David and Martha Showers

Akron Children’s Hospital



Donald and Marcia Stone

Akron Children’s Hospita



Barbara Ainsworth-Porter
Richard and Joyce Fowler

Tuesday Musical
Robinson Foundation



Kerri Bowman DVM




Don and Darlene Utru

St. Vincent-St. Mary High School



Dr. George Littman
Dr Lynn Remly
Mrs. Jean Staudt

Akron General Foundation
Humane Society
St. Vincent-St. Mary’s



Dorothy Bench



Jerry Davidson

Tuesday Musical Foundation



Rev. Victor A. Myers

Barberton Community Foundation



Dick and Thelma Leppo

Laurel Lake Foundation



Mrs. Vivian Bear

Alzheimers  Association



Mrs. Ann Shean

Rockynol / OPRS Foundation



Mrs. Jean Hauser

Our Lady of the Elms/Sisters of St Dominic



Maynard Family

Akron Children’s Hospital

For More information, contact Liz Ganocy at 330-990-5027 or email Liz@leavealegacyspm.org.   





Past Voices of Change Honorees


Dr. Kerri Bowman, DVM 
– Crown Jewel for 2014
Nominated by Pawsilibilites, Humane Society of Greater Akron

Jim & Maureen Kovach
Nominated by Western Reserve Public Media

Dave & Pat Kraninger
Nominated by Walsh Jesuit School

Susan Moore
Nominated by Maguire Legal Group


Peggy Lloyd
Nominated by Akron General Foundation

Sandra Kramer
Nominated by Western Reserve Public Media

Judge Mary T. Spicer
Nominated by Pawsilibilites, Humane Society of Greater Akron

Phil Tobin
Nominated by Hudson Community Foundation

Don & Darlene Utrup
– Crown Jewel for 2013
Nominated by St. Vincent- St. Mary High School


Dr. Lynn L. Remly 
– Crown Jewel for 2012
Nominated by Pawsilibilites, Humane Society of Greater Akron

Mrs. Jean A. Staudt 
– Crown Jewel for 2012
Nominated by St. Vincent- St. Mary Endowment

Dr. George Litman 
- Crown Jewel for 2012
Nominated by Akron General Foundation


Dorothy "Dot" Bench 
– Crown Jewel for 2011
Nominated by Northeast Ohio Medical University

Jack & Vivian Harig
– Crown Jewel for 2011
Nominated by Akron Rotary Camp for Children with Specials Needs

Keith & Joanne Jones
– Crown Jewel for 2011
Nominated by Akron Children's Hospital


Jacquelyn Brown
Nominated by Kidney Foundation of Medina

Jerry Davidson
– Crown Jewel for 2010
Nominated by Tuesday Musical Association

Ann Gaborsky
Nominated by SHC/The Arc of Medina County

William H. Kelly
Nominated by Medina Hospital Foundation

Dr. Ron & Maureen Russ
Nominated by Akron Children's Hospital


Carol Adams
Nominated by Peninsula Library Foundation

Allen & Phyllis Arkett
Nominated by The Salvation Army

Thomas & Patricia Blazey
Nominated by Rockynol/OPRS Foundation

Jerry Kelly
Nominated by St. Vincent – St. Mary High School

Rev. Victor A. Myers
 – Crown Jewel for 2009
Nominated by Barberton Community Foundation


Allene J. Fodor
Nominated by American Heart Association

Dick & Thelma Leppo
– Crown Jewel for 2008
Nominated by Laurel Lake Foundation

George & Edna Rammel
Nominated by Salvation Army Summit County

Donald E. Tubbs
Nominated by Society for Handicapped Citizens of Medina County


Vivian Bear
– Crown Jewel for 2007
Nominated by Alzheimer's Association

Lois W. Brock
Nominated by Rockynol/OPRS Foundation

William J. Henkel
Nominated by St. Vincent – St. Mary High School

Mary Landi
Nominated by Holy Family Parish


Sue & Dick Abbot
Nominated by Coleman Foundation

Donald Kelley
Nominated by Akron General Development Foundation

Ann Shean
– Crown Jewel for 2006
Nominated by Rockynol/OPRS Foundation

David Showers
Nominated by Archbishop Hoban High School

Nancy & Jack Slinger
Nominated by Ardmore Foundation

Bruce W. Rogers, Jr. (Bud Rogers)
Nominated by United Way of Summit County


Dr. & Mrs. James D. D'Ianni
Nominated by University of Akron

Jacob & Clara Faber CommunityEnrichment and Education Foundation
Nominated by Catholic Social Services of Summit County

Mrs. Jean Hauser
– Crown Jewel for 2005
Nominated by Sisters of St. Dominic

Mr. Nobby Lewandowski
Nominated by Medina County Community Fund

Mr. & Mrs. John Trecaso
Nominated by Akron General Hospital


Maynard Family Foundation
– Crown Jewel for 2004
Nominated by Akron Children's Hospital Foundation



Copyright © 2015 - 2019, Leave A Legacy Summit, Medina, Portage. All Rights Reserved.

PO Box 2255, Hudson, Ohio 44236 | 330.990.5027 | liz@leavealegacyspm.org

Designed & hosted by Jacq Connect